Workflow calculated field shows id instead of name

Hi, I am very new to SuiteCRM and trying to set it up for my company. My SuiteCRM is Version 7.11.8, Sugar Version 6.5.25 (Build 344). I have created a custom module called as ‘Asset’ to record the serial number of the machines we sell to the customer so there is a one to many relationship between Products and Asset as well as Accounts and Asset. Also I have a one to many relationship between Asset and Cases so that I can create a history of cases of machines we have sold based on the serial number. Now what I would like is that while the user is filling the Cases form and when he enters the Account and the Asset(Serial Number) and saves the form, the list view and the other views should have a field called as machine which is autopopulated with the product name. For this I have created a text field in Cases module called as ‘Machine’ and created a worflow to calculate the field machine using the relation parameter. The problem I am facing is that instead of showing the name of the product it is showing the ID. My observation is that if the field of the relation parameter is its own field then it shows the name but if it is a related field then it shows the ID. Is there a way some how I will be able to show the name of the product instead of the ID?

Hi @agupta,

I think the issues is on y our Workflow. Make sure you are assigning the right value to the field.

Other option is to add a related field via Studio and fill it with a logic hook. More info here: https://docs.suitecrm.com/developer/logic-hooks/

Thanks,

AlxGr

Hi AlxGr,

Thanks for the reply.

Please find below image of my workflow:

Also please find below the output of my workflow:

I thought I had some relationship messed up in my custom module so I made a test on using a standard module, please find below image of that workflow:

Please find the output of the workflow: