Trying to add a Lead using v8 API getting "Method not allowed. Must be one of: GET"

Using Postman I have successfully retrieved my access_token and been able to get a list of existing leads, but each time I attempt a POST to add a lead I get the following response.

{
“message”: “Method not allowed. Must be one of: GET”
}

This makes no sense as to add it should be POST to add not GET.

Any Ideas?

Thanks.

Hi @JosephN, there are 2 solutions

1: Convert your request type to ‘GET’ in suitecrm,
2: Create a Custom Request on CRM side to allow post methods (if you are not a developer you can never do it, you need to engage any developer)

thanks

1: Convert your request type to ‘GET’ in suitecrm,

Converting to a GET doesn’t work. On top of that, it SHOULDN’T as this is a record add function that should use the POST method.

Create a Custom Request on CRM side to allow post methods (if you are not a developer you can never do it, you need to engage any developer)

I am a developer and could, however, shouldn’t the POST methods for the LEAD module record creation ALREADY be implemented and enabled as part of the default API?

I see lots of mentions of POST methods in the API Docs, so I guess that error message must be caused by something else, but I am afraid I have no idea what it might be, I never used the API myself… :frowning:

Hi @JosephN,

As per my knowledge, most of modules API methods in the CRM for V8 API are done by GET method…
But some are also PUT and POST. Any how, for your help.
Can you please check the ROUTE file in API folder, from there you can get an idea of WHICH method is done by GET and which one is by POST… Hope this will help you.

Api\V8\Config\routes.php

Thanks

$app->post mean POST is allowed
$app->get mean GET is allowed
$app->put mean PUT is allowed