Targets - Leads - Contacts == Why are there three seperate records?

I’m going batty. I’ve been using SuiteCRM for 3 months or so and migrated all my data so that I am trying to be fully committed. However, I am really struggling with the concept that SuiteCRM has a separate record for a target, lead, and contact and not just one record with a status field. This triplication of data is causing all sorts of problems where I really can’t see who is invited to campaigns (campaign is linked to the target not the lead), people are updating a lead’s notes and it isn’t carried on to the contact and so forth.

Am I the only one that is going nuts with this? Am I thinking about this wrong? Why would the same person be a target and a lead and a contact? Why is the system triplicating data and causing data sync issues? Is this a common problem or am I doing something wrong?

My data is becoming a total mess with various people updating the wrong type of person. Ideas? alternatives?

Any insight would be great.

Thanks.

Doug

1 Like

Hi Doug,

The CRM splits out the three entities as they play a different role in the customer lifecycle. Targets for example are only names you have which you can market it to. A Lead is an unqualified sales contact which has its own lifecycle of status (New, Assigned, In Process, Dead, Recycled) - The Lead is actually a mixture of Contact, Account and Opportunity information as it is meant to be used at a stage where you don’t have complete information on all three as you are still qualifying that Lead. Therefore the User does not have to create an Account, Contact and Opportunity when they may not have all that information yet… And it may never even be important and they may not be a potential customer!