Setting up cron jobs

Hi I have same issue. Can you please help me know where exactly I need to upload this new PHP file? I can’t see it through browser if I save it in var/www/suitecrm

it turns out to be root for me. Is it bad to add root in the allowed_cron_users?
It doesn’t work for me otherwise.

What do you mean by “it turns out to be root”?

You shouldn’t add root to allowed_cron_users, no.

And you definitely shouldn’t be running your web server as root (if that is what “it turns out” is about).

Please read this article.

Hey, thanks for replying.
Sorry for my dumb questions. I am new to all this. I am learning using online guides.

I have gone through the article multiple times. And I would not like to add root in allowed_cron_users, but if I don’t add root, then I get a Fatal Error.
I tried to add $cronUser followed by ‘cronUser’ instead of root but it doesn’t work.

Then I followed the process of going to mydomain.com/getting_current_user, and the name displayed there was root. So I had to add root allowed_cron_users. My schedulers started running after that. I still can’t send campaign emails though.

Is there any way to stop root from using the web server?

I split this into a separate topic, to avoid spamming other users.

If your SuiteCRM is running, please go into Admin / Schedulers and tell me what you see in the crontab instructions at the bottom. This should include the user name under which your web server is running.

I don’t believe it is root, because if it was you would have hacked the Siteground server completely. It must be something else.

1 Like

Yes, I don’t see root there.
My crontab has exactly these lines.
But the crontab doesn’t work if I don’t add root in allowed_cron_users in the config.php file

In order to run SuiteCRM Schedulers, edit your web server user’s crontab file with this command:
sudo crontab -e -u www-data
… and add the following line to the crontab file:

• cd /var/www/suitecrm; php -f cron.php > /dev/null 2>&1