Running a report with parameter populated from current detail view

Hi,

I am new to using SuiteCRM (but not new to dev) and I am wanting to do something that conceptually should be quite simple but I cannot seem to find a way to do it.

I have a report with a parameter that is an id from a custom module, say A. When I am viewing the detail view of a record from module A I want to be able to run the report with the parameter set to the id of the current record. This would seem to be a fairly simple use case but I suspect I will have to resort to code to do it, which seems odd. Is there a way to run a report with a parameter populated from the current record?

I am using version 7.12.8

Thanks.

Hi, welcome to the Community! :tada:

You can do that with a PDF template for simple stuff, but it won’t have all the possibilities of a full report.

Then you run it from the detail view, action buttons “generate letter”.

Thanks for the reply @pgr Following your lead I looked into it and have it kind of working.

However PDF Templates is just as clunky and requiring custom code to do it as well. It is a custom module so “generate letter” or “Print PDF” are not in the action buttons and I had to create a view.detail.php file to add it. Messy, and too involved for a simple thing.

In addition, I have a One-Many relationship that does not show in the dropdown while creating the PDF Template and so I cannot add the detail. The module was originally created in Module Builder and relationships defined there.

I have a report that works fine so I think trying to figure out how to open that report and set the parameter would be better. It is just so involved for something so basic…surely I am not the alone in wanting to open a report like this?

Actually I’ve been around here for a long time and I don’t remember anyone with a similar request… but I do agree with you, it makes sense and probably should be simple.

I would do it with enhanced PDF from my own add-on PowerReplacer.