Possible to generate letter from PDF template based on report data?

I am new to Suite CRM and just finished importing and migrating a client’s data from an old MS Access database. I have created a report that shows all accounts/contacts that have a specific task due in the next 90 days. I created a PDF template for a letter that they would then like to physically mail out to these customers but I wasn’t seeing anyway to generate these letters based on the report data.

The only options I saw were to export the report results to a CSV or download as a PDF, but it is strictly the report data. Is there anyway to generate PDF template-based letters based on the report data out of the box?

Anyone? Right now the only way I can do it is by manually selecting a single contact in each row and then I have an option to Print as PDF and select the template. Would be nice if I could just select all or multiple records in the report, then Print as PDF, select the template, and it generates a multi-page PDF. Is there no way to do this out of the box?

I don’t know of any way to do this using SuiteCRM, out of the box. Unfortunately, report generation is not one of Suite’s strong attributes.

In your specific case, you are looking for something that can essentially generate page headers and footers (i.e. the body of the letter), along with a recurring line item area (for the list of tasks due) in the middle.

Your options for formatting Suite data are as follows:

1. See if there is something suitable (i.e, a reporting module) from The SuiteCRM Store (check the same for SugarCRM, too). There will be a cost for this.

2. Export the data to CSV/Excel and do a mail-merge in MS Word. (Word can actually handle mail merges with headers and footers).

3. Use something like Crystal Reports (with header, detail and footer regions) against the actual SuiteCRM MySQL tables. This will require an understanding of the table structures and the inter-relationships.