Major upgraded needed for the email module

Suitecrm is an awesome product and has come a long way. If I was a PHP programmer, I would have loved to contribute. Until then I will try to provide feedback.

Email is the most important component of a CRM. Yet, it is severely lacking in features and is extremely buggy. Looking at the v8 roadmap, email updates are nowhere to be seen. IMHO, the items in 8.1 and 8.2 do not add any serious value and at the outset appear just nice to have.

I would urge to give email the highest priority. It deserves a major facelift and features upgrade. It will make suitecrm so much more better and useful. Email update should be the major focus for 8.1.

1 Like

:clap:

I entirely subscribe to what you’re saying.

Thank you for reaching out and yes, Emails are extremely important - I whole heartily agree. In order to get to the point to have this overhaul that email module deserves there are a few stepping stones to tackle first certainly in the 8.1 (and some in 8.2).

What makes up the backlog for 8.1 is missing functionality like SAML, Recently Record and Favourites that didn’t quite make it into 8.0. But in order to even begin working on the Email module we need functionality (and secure) HTML/WYSIGI fields so they are a must. This also leads into 8.2 which includes the Email/HTML template engine. This will help immensely with generating good, rich email content as well as displaying it correctly (that’s another problem targeted which exists today).

So yeah, the roadmap currently doesn’t explicitly say an overhaul of Email module (yet) but there are the stepping stones in place to do so.

Of course the roadmap is there for members like yourself to highlight the importance of other areas which we take back to the backlog grooming and see what else needs to be considered so we can get to this overhaul task faster. :+1: