live server and dev server

Hi,

I’m at the point where I want to release the instance of suiteCRM that I have been working on into the wild for user to test. They will be adding data, and obviously changing records and so on. I want to continue to develop suiteCRM on a dev. environment and then release the updated dev. version of suiteCRM to the live server. Question: how do I achieve this without impacting the data that has been changed? We’re self hosting SuiteCRM. I’ve never done this before so apologies if this has been asked before, but I want to be clear.

What I’m looking to do:

Initially, Development Server -----> Live Server
Subsequently, Development server version re-released with code/ other changes ----->live sever/no data change, but updated SuiteCRM

I Hope this makes sense

Lars

If you keep the two servers in sync regarding the SuiteCRM version, and you make sure nobody is using Studio / Module Builder / Dropdown Editor in your production instance, then your two databases should stay in sync, regarding structure, only the data will be different.

This means that you can move database form one server to the other, and move code from one to the other, with independence (and proper backups!)

You can probably just move any new code into production just by copying all your files on top of what is already there.

You need more care if you still plan to do structural changes in your new developments (new custom fields, etc).

2 Likes

I’m bookmarking this one PGR… thanks once again

Lars

I’m still a little confused… :blink:

I want to follow best practises on this one.

The documentation says to “develop” in a development or test environment. So I want to do this, but do I have to operate a separate environment (server, suitecrm installation, DB etc) or just copy the suitecrm folder?

If a separate environment is required, how is the release of new developments, fields etc handled?

Thanks

Lars