I need help. Workflow to send email...

Hi all,

I am a non-technical project manager who joined a small company and promptly was slated to create their CRM with the 1 guy who made up the entire IT department. We created the CRM in Suite and then he left. I understand conceptually what I’m doing but can’t get it to work.

I created a Task module. All I want it to do is have an email sent to the assigned user when a task is assigned to them. This is what I put in workflow:

Condition:
Module=Tasks
Field=Assigned To
Operator=Equal To
Type=Value
Value= I also tried to point this to “people”

Action:
Action=Send Email
To: Email
Email Template:

What am I doing wrong??? I have a feeling I’ll be making a lot of workflows and I can’t get this simple one to work.

Thanks for any help!

Ann

Hi

I think assignment emails go out automatically, no need for a workflow. But maybe there is an option somewhere to turn that on… I don’t know.

Then, if you really need a workflow, you have to check if your Scheduler Jobs are running, or else nothing will work. Go into Admin / Schedulers and check the “last run time” of each job that looks relevant, and whether it terminated with errors.

Thanks, that helped! So it looks like something is screwed up in the email settings. It’s set up to send notifications to the “Assigned to” person so I went to check the email setting and I can’t get a test email to send out. I may be back asking for help getting that all sorted out. Grrrrr.

I don’t know what version you’re running, but if it’s 7.9.x I advise you to wait for 7.9.3 (scheduled to come out Monday) before attempting Email configuration. There are some bugs that make that process a bit flaky, you could be wasting your time fighting your configuration options only to discover it wasn’t working because of a known and fixed bug.

Oh, I’m on 7.2.2…the guy who set it up kept running into something buggy so we reverted back to an old version he had used. Got rid of that one bug… :blink: