How to “match up” SuiteCRM with my business needs

I’m a PHP developer installing SuiteCRM to help a friend with her translation/interpretation business. Being a CRM newb, I’m having a little trouble determining wihich modules correspond with her particular basic business needs. Could you please confirm/address what I put in the square brackets below?

Basically, a client [Account Module] calls her requesting a translator (aka sub contractor, not an employee) [ ? Module] for a particular job [ ? Module]. Once the job is completed, the translator sends her an invoice [? Module]. She then sends her own invoice [Invoice module] to the client.

Where modules don’t already exist, is the duplicating of a particular one recommended over another?

Will she be able to “assign” particular sub contractors to a job?

I’m thinking this might be spilling over a bit from sales into service but is this still pretty doable for SuiteCRM?

Thanks a lot!

I think she will want to use the Quotes / Invoices / Products modules. Maybe also Opportunities if she wants to manage possible business deals, not yet confirmed. The less modules she can use to get her simple work flow going, the better.

I belive the Invoices module will be used only for her own accounting (Invoices she creates for her customers); other invoices received from translators to be payed by her can probably be simply “Notes” with file attachments.

Maybe I can recommend the posts in my blog that are tagged “concepts”: https://pgorod.github.io/archive#concepts

… especially the one about Accounts and Contacts since it explains the kind of approach I think is best, and the one about Notes and Documents (to understand that difference).

About the “assignments”… Will her sub-contrated translators be “users” in SuiteCRM, with their own log in? Or are they simply people she deals with via email or something?

Thanks a lot! Sounds like you know your stuff.