How to add case threaded updates to custom module

Hi i ahve created a custom module and would like to add threaded comments - just like the one in cases, how would i go about doing this?

Thanks in advance

1 Like

I don’t know the answer, and I think it will be complicated, but you can start by looking at these files

modules/AOP_Case_Updates/AOP_Case_Updates.php
modules/AOP_Case_Updates/CaseUpdatesHook.php

I would love to know this too. I am not a coder, so in layman’s terms, please.

Sorry, in layman’s terms, non-coder terms, the answer is “it’s not possible”…

It’s not possible to answer in layman’s terms, or it’s not possible to add the case threaded updates to a custom module? Please specify.

Thank you.

:slight_smile:

Adding that feature is a complicated task for a coder. It’s not possible for a non-technical person.

Thank you.

I found myself thinking about this thread today, so I come back to add a comment. Fortunately, a non-technical comment.

When I started with SuiteCRM, my first approach was to do everything in “custom-mode”, start adding my modules, my fields, etc.

As years go by, I now favor the approach of trying to use as much of what is already there as possible, in the exact same way as it is there. The reason is that there are many hidden details, many simple improvements to fields (like email, threaded updates) that are hard or impossible to replicate in custom modules.

So you should consider if you can’t simply achieve your objectives with the Cases module.

I wrote this in my blog, regarding the Accounts and Contacts concepts, but it applies equaly to many other modules (like Cases):

I hope this helps. I think this kind of advice on SuiteCRM is missing from the Internet, that’s why I have a bunch of articles in my blog with the tag “Concepts”, to help with data modelling and process modelling around SuiteCRM.

1 Like