How can I have my local development compile?

Hello Everyone, I am new to Suitecrm.

I downloaded the code and intend to try to edit a few things. I have been able to get the application running locally but I am unable to have the application compile after I save on the frontend.

I can only see my changes after I build the application. Which is not efficient for development.

Can anyone tell me how to achieve this?

Take a look into the official documentation:

Thanks @BrozTechnologies

I have read through the guide i found an instruction here but it is unfortunate that the application is still not watching my changes.

What exactly are you changing?

Angular apps need to be recompiled, that’s just the way it works. That’s how you get to work in TypeScript and get it transpiled to JS. That’s how you get proper bundling and all kinds of optimizations.

I know.

The documentation requires me to run the command: “yarn run build-dev:defaultExt --watch”.

This is expected to watch the changes made in my files and compile. But it is not watching the changes in my case.

For inastance, I added a test link to the footer.component.html. The app does not compile to show the new link added on the interface.

I need the app to compile after saving every change. Hence, the changes will show on the GUI.

Hey @Deal,

Are you doing your changes within the extensions/defaultExt folder?

The yarn run build-dev:defaultExt --watch will only watch the extensions/defaultExt folder (see the angular.json config).

The footer.component.html is a core file, you need to do watch on the core and shell.

Just a warning: the changes done to core folder are not upgrade safe. Its not recommended. All files there will be replaced whenever you upgrade. You can track the changes by using git or similar, but is going to be hard work.

There is a guide on building the the front end on:

Thanks @anthony.oak.castro