Desperate about subpanels

Hi everybody. After 2 or 3 days searching on the Internet and trying things I though could work, Iā€™ve decided to come here before commiting suicide :S

The thing is that Iā€™m trying to refresh a subpanel after a record is saved in another subpanel. The module where the subpanels belong is Contacts and the subpanels are in the screenshot you can find attached.

Notice that 1 of the 2 subpanels is the complex ā€œActivitiesā€ (at least I think it is so) and the other one is a custom panel I created myself.

Please, Iā€™m really desperate.

Any help is welcome.

There is a function called showSubpanels(). You would call this, and pass in the parameters and details for the sub-panel you wished to refresh, after your button had been clicked.

Do you have good programming knowledge?

Do you know where to edit sub-panels?

Hi Will,

Thanks for your quick reply. About your questions, yes, I studied Computer Science Engineering and Iā€™m a professional for 7 years. Im not sure about the second one, but I think I know where I have to edit the subpanels.

The file below is the one that I have to modify, right?
custom\Extension\modules\Contacts\Ext\Layoutdefs\contacts_tena_reactionaction_1_Contacts.php

Its contents are:

<?php
 // created: 2015-01-12 08:52:01
$layout_defs["Contacts"]["subpanel_setup"]['contacts_tena_reactionaction_1'] = array (
  'order' => 100,
  'module' => 'Tena_ReactionAction',
  'subpanel_name' => 'default',
  //'sort_by' => 'date_act_or_react,parent_type', //JMM 2 lines. No funciona como queremos asĆ­ que se modifica el SugarBean.php para ello.
  //'sort_order' => 'desc,desc',
  'title_key' => 'LBL_CONTACTS_TENA_REACTIONACTION_1_FROM_TENA_REACTIONACTION_TITLE',
  'get_subpanel_data' => 'contacts_tena_reactionaction_1',
  'top_buttons' => array(),
);