Custom module builder and relationship keys

I am new to SuiteCRM. Just installed v7.10 on Windows Server 2012 running IIS and MySQL server.

Was very easy to install.

We are looking at replacing our existing Dynamics 365 CRM due high ongoing subscription cost.

I need to duplicate what we are currently doing in Dynamics 365 CRM.

We are a clinical lab and our Field Reps use CRM to keep track of customers, contacts, phone numbers, email, etc.

Also, they see their volume of tests ordered by their customers. All the data for Customers, contacts, and test orders are loaded from our Lab Information Management System.

We have a custom entity (that is what they call it in Dynamics) that holds all the customer lab orders.

In SuiteCRM, I need to create a lab order module that we can import into that will contain the:

• lab order ID
  • Facility account number (customer)
  • ordering clinician name
  • test name
  • assigned field rep name
  • assigned field rep ID
  • lab order status
  • Date logged
  • date completed
  • date reported
  • rejection code

There might additional fields added in the future.
What I am trying to wrap my head around is how to associate the records to the customer via the account number during imports and searches.
My first impression of the building relationship to the Account (customer) is that it uses a generated internal db ID.
Can I create a one to many relationship as such:
Account.Account Number >>>> Lab Order.Account Number

Lab Order can have multiple tests within it, so not sure how to handle that either.

There will be updates to the Lab Orders during the course of a week where the Lab Order Status will change. This helps the Field Rep track the progress of the order to communicate to their customers.

Any and all input will be greatly appreciated.

Instead of getting all that done in a new custom module, if I were you I would try to use existing SuiteCRM modules that do similar things.