Custom Invoices numbering

Hello,

I’m new in SuiteCRM, but I was able to modify in AOS_Invoices.php line from:

$this->number = $this->db->getOne(“SELECT MAX(CAST(number as UNSIGNED))+1 FROM aos_invoices”);

to:

$this->number = $this->db->getOne(“SELECT COUNT(CAST(number as UNSIGNED))+1 FROM aos_invoices WHERE deleted = 0”);

Question is: for proper operation should I so modified file transfer to:

sugarcrm\custom\modules\AOS_Invoices folder??

Chris.

Ordinarily, yes you would put changes into custom. However there’s no way I know of to customise a bean in an upgrade safe manner. Just be aware that if you upgrade SuiteCRM you may lose your changes to that file.

I’m not sure I agree with the change you made however since it allows duplicate invoice numbers.

I.e.

number  | deleted
1       |  0
2       |  1
3       |  0
4       |  0

would give the next invoice a number of 4 even though it’s taken and not deleted.

Thanks,
Jim

Thank You Jim for your answer!

I’ve made this modification to have possibility to delete invoices (in special situations) and stay numeration correct - one after the other in invoices. Once deleted document will not be restored.

Unfortunately the problem with duplicated numbers I saw in my test instance too, but only when the modificated file was in sugarcrm\custom\modules\AOS_Invoices folder. When I made it in original folder sugarcrm\modules\AOS_Invoices everything looks fine… I’m not sure why? That’s why I asked for a location on forum.

Any idea??

If the file you’ve changed is modules/AOS_Invoices/AOS_Invoices.php then placing a file in custom/modules/AOS_Invoices/AOS_Invoices.php should have no effect - SuiteCRM wont check this for bean definitions unless you add customisations to use this bean.