Call timer

Not being a coder, I have no idea how difficult this may be but I thought I’d make the ask anyway.

I’d love to be able to have a “call timer” or “task timer” available in a number of windows. This was available in a crm product that I used prior to moving over to Sugar and now planning for conversion to SuiteCRM.

Why do I want a time stamp?
I found that when making multiple follow-up calls I do a “Close & Duplicate”. So I want a record of dates and times of previous calls available in the description. While I could open another window to see the list of calls, I also want to see the comment that I’ve added into the description field at the specific time. I’m manually adding the date & time with the comments. It gets a bit tedious to always add the date+time into the description field.

For example.

I may have a call planned for 14:00 (2:00pm). I can set the planned call in the present dialog box. So I call at 2pm and the call goes for 5 min. (or I could plan for 15 min call and it actually goes 25 min.)

I’d like a button (or key command sequence) to put a time stamp into the text description box.

Click button and it puts “2013.10.24 - 14:00 :” into the box. Then when the call ends, click button and place 2013.10.24 - 14:05 into box. Of course the date and time format would need to match the users settings.

The old CRM I used would also calculate the duration. I don’t think that’s really necessary but would be nice to have too.

Depending on what you are using for you telephone system have you tried http://www.sugarforge.org/projects/freepbxelastix/ that ones for asterisk based platforms it’s description is: Core integration to track inbound/outbound Calls from Freepbx/Elastix/Trixbox in SugarCRM with no user interaction (only server to server).Identify the caller for inbound calls and display it in any SIP phone like X-lite.Upgrade safe module loaders.

or maybe www.sugarforge.org/projects/liz for call scheduling

1 Like

Thanks for the links.