Adding Emails to Records - internal and external email clients

I’m new to SuiteCRM but have some background in S****force. I want to be able to attach transactional email (not marketing mass mailings) to Contact and other records but can not find a good explanation of how to do this. I’m interested in 2 use cases:

• Attaching emails when the email is generated from inside SuiteCRM (i.e. SuiteCRM is the mail client)
  • Attaching emails when the email is generated in a corporate GMail account

If there is a resource available that explain this (or just parts of it) please point me in the right direction. If one does not exist, any insight would be welcome.

I am using a hosted instance of SuiteCRM so do not have the usual sysop-type access - just the application admin capabilities.

Thanks in advance

I believe what you’re looking for is to configure an Inbound email account

https://docs.suitecrm.com/user/modules/email-settings/

This can be a Gmail account or any other that has IMAP/SMTP access.

Then when you import an Email (which means, copy it into SuiteCRM) you can get it linked with any record (Account, Lead, contact)

Is this is? I am interpreting when you say “attached” you don’t say it in the sense of “email attachment”, but simply in the sense of linked, related to.

pgr - thanks for the quick response.

SO I think I have email account configured. But I think perhaps I do not understand the aspect of “copy it into SuiteCRM”. Perhaps just my ignorance of the new system. In Sforce, I could work in (say) Outlook and do a BCC to a “special address” and the Sforce system would make association with a record and attach the email to the record. I would then be able to see all the emails about a topic (Account, Opportunity etc) inside the CRM.

I’m trying to set the same thing up here but think the mechanics are different and I can’t find a good explanation.