How to search Notes for a specific word

Is this possible? I don’t seem to be able to figure out how to filter ‘Notes’ by a specific character string. I have been up and down the manual, Advanced Search options, AOD settings, etc - but don’t seem to be able to figure out how to find all ‘Notes’ containing a key word. I am using Version 7.9.7

Only a few select fields are included in the Global search indexing. I think you can make a field searchable, so maybe you can find a way to make the Notes’ content searchable. I’m not sure how. Perhaps in Studio / Notes / Fields? Or in the vardefs?..

1 Like

Hi pgr,

Thanks again for your suggestion.
I found another possible solution and was wondering if you have come across it. It deals with yet another concept I have no experience with.

The comment number is #5847. Title: Full-text search?

It is from a while back, so I am wondering if it still valid.

Any chance you could take a look?

Much appreciate it!

Thanks,
Greg

Is your Global search working at all? Did you set up your Scheduler Jobs in cron?

See Admin / Schedulers, bottom of screen

Hi pgr,

I have not, so I did as outlined in Admin/Schedule:

In order to run SuiteCRM Schedulers, edit your web server user’s crontab file with this command:
sudo crontab -e -u www-data
… and add the following line to the crontab file:

• cd /var/www/html/InuitGalleryOfVancouverCRM; php -f cron.php > /dev/null 2>&1 

BTW, do I need all those leading asterisks? I assume the task I need to run is “Perform Lucene Index”.
The task by default is set to run on the hour (On the hour; 00:00), waited to get over the hour mark. Still no luck.

As before, the search by a character string only finds matches in Subject part of the Note(s); and ONLY if the Subject text begins with that string. :frowning: