Duplicate checking for multiple fields

Hey everyone,

I have a quick question regarding the import of contacts. Is it possible to check for multiple fields while importing data via csv? For example if I add new contacts I want to check first and last name and only if both are matching to an existing entry I should get back a warning.

Thanks,
Mario

does it not do that by default?
IT is easy to roll-back an import = the UI allows that choice.

So best bet is for you to give it a try with a couple of entries in a CSV, and roll-back if you need to.

How long have you used SuiteCRM - or is this all new for you right now; because you used a different CRM in the past?

Yeah I’m pretty new to SuiteCRM, working with it just a couple of weeks.

If I’m not wrong Suite is checking the fields individually by default. So for example if I select the duplicate checker for phone number and country, it checks the duplicate in each field and gives me the result. By following this guide I managed to set a combined duplicate checker:

https://support.sugarcrm.com/Documentation/Sugar_Developer/Sugar_Developer_Guide_10.0/Data_Framework/Vardefs/Specifying_Custom_Indexes_for_Import_Duplicate_Checking/

However, if I try to add my desired fields of last name + mail it’s not working and SuiteCRM is going back to checking the duplicate fields individually.

And thanks for the tip with rolling-back an import, I already figured that out and used it a couple of times.

By following this guide I managed to set a combined duplicate checker:

so - what was different after that?
What field(s) did you add
What combinations of matches have you now proved that DO match only on BOTH fields?

However, if I try to add my desired fields of last name + mail it’s not working

You probably trued adding those 2 fields in, as per the Sugar page,